Places Under ECQ, MECQ and GCQ from May 16 to 31, 2020

IATF Resolution No. 37 (s.2020)
IATF Resolution No. 37 (s.2020)

There's been much confusion nowadays as to what places are under ECQ, MECQ and GCQ. Let me share with you what the Resolution No. 37 (s.2020) of the Inter-agency Task Force (IATF) for the Management of Emerging Infectious Diseases approved on May 15, 2020 has to say on this matter.

Under the IATF Resolution No. 37, until May 31, 2020, the classification of provinces, highly urbanized cities (HUCs) and independent component cities (ICCs) based on risk level shall be adopted as follows:

Enhanced Community Quarantine (ECQ)

  • Cebu City
  • Madaue City.

Modified Enhanced Community Quarantine (MECQ)

  • All HUCs of the NCR
  • Municipality of Pateros
  • Bataan
  • Bulacan
  • Nueva Ecija
  • Pampanga
  • Zambales
  • Angeles City
  • Laguna

General Community Quarantine (GCQ)

  • All other provinces, HUCs, and ICCs not mentioned above
Please note that the classification of places under MECQ is without prejudice to the declaration of localized Enhanced Community Quarantine in critical areas. This means that if an area within these places was declared to be under ECQ locally, this IATF resolution does not limit such localized ECQ declaration.


  1. ECQ pa kami dito. Kakatakot pa rin bumalik sa outside world :-)

    1. Oo, nakakatakot nga, sis. Kami, supposed to be magiging GCQ na sana pero nagrequest ang LGU na huwag muna. Hindi nga namin alam kung ano ang gagawin kapag magstart na ang mga classes tapos wala pa ring gamot itong COVID-19 na ito. :-(


I'd love to hear from you! Be sure to leave a line or two (or more!) in the comment section below. Love & light! Love & light!!!